Home

Facebook

March 27, 2011

A couple of years ago I joined Facebook along with the masses. I have dutifully posted pictures, updates and commented on friends’ posts.  My primary reason for joining was to try to understand its utility – it wasn’t readily obvious to me. It still isn’t.

Now if I had kids or lived half way around the world from my family it might be different. But I struggle to figure out how my life is actually better for having Facebook. In fact, I think it’s probably a net negative. It takes time and allows me to keep in touch with people without actually having to interact with them meaningfully like by phone or in person.

I’m not even sure that if I had a business to promote that being on Facebook would be a necessity for success.

Nevertheless, I still maintain a profile. I think I do so because there might be an unknown negative to not being there.

I came across this blog entry that I think does a good job of making the case to quit Facebook,particularly if you’re an entrepreneur.  Enjoy!

http://thetrailblazinglife.com/philosophy/quit-facebook-equation/

3 Responses to “Facebook”

  1. Collin Says:

    Hi Mark,

    I’m not too sure how you stumbled upon my post but thanks for the link. I was excited to see your website and learn that you’re an old sage within entrepreneurship and right here in my own backyard!

    I looked at the Entrepreneurship@UBC website and was immediately intrigued by it. I noticed right away that one of the partners was BCIC. I have just signed up for 9 of their seminars that are coming up in the months of April and May. Also, I have begun filling out an application for the BCIC competition and am thinking about submitting it for my startup, sproutups.com.

    I’m very intrigued about everything you’re doing here in the community with regards to entrepreneurship and would love to find out more about your past experience and also about your current initiatives. Would you mind if I email you or call you to discuss it further?

    Cheers,
    Collin

  2. Paul Says:

    I agree, there’s been so many times that I have considered deleting my facebook profile but there is something holding me back.

    You get life updates from your friends so there isn’t a push to get into ‘real’ contact with them over a coffee or phone call.

    Ive wanted to get rid of mine for a while, but haven’t had an event to push me over the edge. If your in to delete yours, I’d do it with you.


Leave a Reply

