Home

I don’t have an MBA

May 2, 2010

But I do have an MRBA – Masters in the Realities of Business Administration.

Regular readers of this blog know that I learned most of my business lessons from my second business  – the more challenging one.  Rick Spence, a prolific blogger on Canadian entrepreneurship (visit http://canentrepreneur.blogspot.com/) interviewed me a few weeks back on the topic of lessons learned.

I thought he did a terrific job of capturing our conversation in his piece which has appeared in the Financial Post, Montreal Gazette, Vancouver Sun and Edmonton Journal.  Here’ s a link to his article: http://www.financialpost.com/small-business/story.html?id=2790743

My MRBA comes from making myriad mistakes, some of them emotionally costly and others financially costly.  The very real and beneficial byproduct of those mistakes is that I likely won’t make them again.  These practical lessons have also helped me in honing my intuition when considering different business opportunities.  It’s probably why I’m being so considered in determining my next move.

Don’t be afraid of making mistakes.  Additionally, don’t be afraid to learn from mine!

I’ve spent some time on Rick’s blog.  If you’re an entrepreneur I suggest you do so as well.

Leave a Reply

