Home

Start with Why

March 4, 2010

I just finished the book, Start with Why, and highly recommend it for anyone thinking of entrepreneurship as a pursuit.

The author does a commendable job of encouraging one to really think about the “Why” you are pursuing your vocation as opposed to the “What” and “How”.

I’ve written at some length about some of the mistakes I made in my second business.  A common theme relates to my lack of passion for computers and computer support.  This author explains the concept a bit differently and does so in a much easier writing style than Good to Great’s Hedgehog.

He suggests that entrepreneurs are often good at thinking about the what (my business sells widgets) and the how (my business has finders, minders and grinders who do “a”, “b” and “c”) and don’t spend enough time thinking about why they sell widgets.

I never had a “why” in my second business and wasn’t passionate about it – I think the two concepts are related.  I think this is in part why that company wasn’t as successful as it could have been.

Pickup this book.  It’s a good and easy read.

Leave a Reply

