Home

Mentor lesson #3: push yourself beyond your limits

January 24, 2010

I’m going through the process of determining what I’m going to do next.  There are three business opportunities that I’m reviewing and all three come with pluses and minus.  See this entry for an analysis of the first one: Business Opportunity #1

There are personal and professional considerations that matter for each business.  I’m a big believer in mentorship and in seeking advice from people who know me, including my strengths and weaknesses, and understand where I want to go.  I also believe that it’s important to seek advice from people are have been or are where I want to be.

Fortunately, there are some great people around me.  Last week I went over to a friend and mentor’s house for a glass of wine and some advice specific to one business I’m considering.

After a fairly wide ranging and comprehensive discussion, he left me with this nugget:

“If you choose this business opportunity I think you’re choosing the comfortable route.  You know you can do it and do it well, however, the upside is limited.  Push yourself beyond your comfort zone and do more.”

I think he nailed it and this is why this is my third entry into my Mentor Lesson series.

Leave a Reply

